Boy leaves to go to Comic Con; Girl stays to make messes

14 Jul

I got all of my screen printing equipment today and most of my shirts yesterday!

Now it is all over my “dining room”

THINGS JUST GOT REAL! I have a little over a week to get sooo many things done:

1. Make Merchandise (kind of important)

2. phone number

3. business cards

4. website

5. clothing tags

I can’t do any of this until I decide on a name. I actually already registered a domain for one of the two names I was thinking of using but now that I have a logo and some designs I am questioning if this is the right name.

The two names are: “Seams” and “Scarlette” or variation on the second “Scarlette Michelle”

Now would probably be the time to explain what kind of business I plan on having. I want to do a clothing line that starts with screen printed art print shirts featuring mine and hopefully soon, local artists artwork. Eventually (when money allows expansion) I would like to add in dresses, skirts, pants and accessories for home and person that are trendy yet classic enough you can wear them over and over again with a focus on quality materials/ construction.

I’m struggling with the name because “Seams” feels like a small arty brand, not super specific but also clearly clothing/sewing related. I also like the punny tag line “Life isn’t as it seams” while “Scarlette” or “Scarlette Michelle” is more encompassing of other items not specifically sewing/clothing related, its also my name, and I don’t feel like it has a predisposed feeling, I can make the brand feel however I want.

 

I need to make a decision right now. Like by tomorrow so I can work on all of those things on my list above. This whole questioning started after I made my logo:

Its me…but not because it could be anyone

 

Then some of my art work:

Vintage Gal

3D Jammer

 

These are the designs I made specifically for Roller Derby/RollerCon I do have other designs that aren’t done/roller derby related but this is a start. I am hoping these plus the others I am taking to RollerCon do well enough to put more money into this to make more things!! Yay for making stuff!!

 

*sigh* what to do, what to do. I guess I will dwell on it some more, ask more people and just print stuff in the meantime.

 

XOXO

Scarlette Amber

One Response to “Boy leaves to go to Comic Con; Girl stays to make messes”

  1. angela July 14, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    I like the “mine only” idea. what about your tattoo brian did with:
    !SAMG IT…MINE ONLY! or !Scarlette…MINE ONLY! running the letters from left bottom to right top in font like comic book style… You know like POW! BAM! I do like your face with mine only alot just maybe more color in the hair LOL!. If you use one of the other two will it limit you to only the derby stuff as they are very COOL!? hehe you could have two… not to make it harder for you to decide 🙂 I am VERY excited to see what you decide on not to mention what you product you put together! Get the serger yet?

Leave a Reply

